Day 50: What have I done to myself?

April 13, 2010

No, I have not died,  nor have I fallen off the face of the earth…  I took a break from the gym to fly to Oregon for my son’s 3rd brain surgery, and have brought him home with me.  But this is not the reason I have not been at the gym or blogging, MY KNEES HURT!

It started the week I was in Oregon and has only gotten worse.  My left knee is still by far the worst, but both of them grind, crackle, pop and have shooting pain when I walk, stand, get up or sit down.  I am just floored that the pain has not gone away over the past few weeks.  As I mentioned, my son came home with me for a month for some intensive “mom care” (so thrilled he is here!!!!!!!!!!!!!) and I have forgone the gym in this time.   Bless his heart, he asks me when I am going to return to the gym (he is so supportive!) and I keep saying I hurt too bad.  I know this totally sounds like an excuse but seriously, I HURT!  Just an example… every time I go to sit on the toilet I hold my breath and make a twisted pain face because I know the pain coming, just to get in a sitting position, will bring me close to Lamaze breathing!

So, I have scheduled an appointment with my physician for Friday.  Bleh.  I know I am going to hear I am over weight, I have damaged my knees and really, really don’t want to hear I need knee surgery.  I have a trip planned for the week of Memorial Day to Washington DC (chaperoning a cousin on grad trip) and I am so afraid I won’t be able to walk around.

What have I done to myself?  Did I actually do more damage at the gym?  Is it reversible?  Am I going to limp and shuffle around like an old lady for the next 6 months?

Will Keep you posted as to what I learn from my doc.

3 Responses to “Day 50: What have I done to myself?”

  1. Samuel Says:

    Kitty, glad to see that you are not dead! I was worried there for a sec (well, not really .. I was worried that you had given up though). Keep at it .. even without being able to use your legs exclusively, there are still thing you can do.

    I am watching you .. *glares*

    Thanks for the nice comment on my site and keeping me in check as well.

  2. Kitty Says:

    Thanks Samuel!

    No, not giving up but I have to admit without being in the gym it is really easy to lose track of what I’m eating and not care as much. Very scared at the moment.

    Thank you for your support, it means so much to me!


  3. So I was searching my friends blogs looking for some inspiration and motivation. I understand not having the time to blog, but how has it been going?


Leave a Reply

