Day 17: Treadmill Motivations

March 11, 2010

I have discovered that what motivates me on the treadmill is slowly changing…  It’s no longer for a hot, rockin’ bod (ya, like that’d happen anyway) or cute clothes (that aren’t designed for old ladies, made of polyester, and only found in my size in mail order catalogs), but for a whole new realm of opportunities that I had written off as “not possible”…

What motivates YOU to move?

I have to admit, shallow as it is, health was not my only motivation to lose weight.  I wanted to buy cute, young clothing off the rack, be able to tuck my shirt in and wear a belt (not since 1994) and ya, being healthier was a great bonus.

Before starting to “workout” I would become short of breath just unloading the drier, it was a huge effort to go up stairs of any kind and I avoided long day trips that included walking (like the zoo) as much as possible.  Since I have joined the gym, as I have said before, I actually have more energy than ever.  Amazing how working so hard doesn’t totally drain you, it actually energizes you.  HUH.

Now, what I visualize (while gliding along the treadmill like a stealth, sleek panther) is the trip I am going to take to Washington DC the end of May.  I am fortunate enough to have been gifted with a trip as a chaperon for my cousin.  Her class is going as a senior trip and she needs a one on one chaperon, since her parents can’t get time off work I GET TO GO!  I am absolutely thrilled!  Of course the first thing that went through my head was “are you kidding me?  7 days of walking around the Capitol?  I’LL DIE”, I was more than a little nervous at the thought of it.  However, now that I am rockin’ the treadmill I am actually excited to see how much walking I can do in DC before I even get tired!  This is just mind-boggling to me!

This mind-set has actually got me thinking of other things I might be able to do someday… like long day trips to the zoo, walking tours of wineries, and who knows, maybe even a marathon some day (I know… but a gal can have lofty goals, right?)

Today,  not only did I use the incline on the treadmill but i did it for a longer period of time and twice!  I did my first 2 minutes warming up to 3.0 MPH and kept it there till I had reached 5 minutes, then did the incline (set at 4.0) for 10 minutes (and I stayed at 3 MPH the ENTIRE time), then back to 0.0 incline for 5 minutes, then 5 more minutes at 4.0 incline and finally the last 5 minutes were with no incline and slowly cooling down the last 2 minutes to 1.5 MPH.  Wow!!!!  I can’t tell you how GREAT it felt to do that workout!

I have tamed the man-eating treadmill-beast.  It is no longer in charge, I AM!  I own that machine.  Not only am I walking, I am CLIMBING and doing it with grace and style.  I haven’t fallen off, tipped over or been spit off the back.  I can even look at other people in the gym now without looking like I am having a seizure.  I do believe I look like I know what I am doing now and perhaps even standing a little taller as the beast is submissive to my commands.

Confidence is a very good thing.

6 Responses to “Day 17: Treadmill Motivations”

  1. Jayson! Says:

    Next Step:

    The moment you know what hotel you’ll be staying at in D.C., call them and ask about their gym facilities.

    Most hotels either have a workout room, or they work with a nearby gym where their guests work out.

    The field trip is going to have an itinerary, so make sure you add your gym time to the schedule in there. Schedule your workouts with all of the other activities!

    If you start your day like that, you’ll have more energy walking around all day!(And everyone around you will be impressed!)

    • Kitty Says:

      Huh, it never even occurred to me to workout while I was there. I just assumed all the touristy walking around would be enough but you have a very good point (about more energy). My only concern is the logistics, my cousin has some disabilities/challenges mentally (hence the one on one chaperon) and I can’t leave her alone and I’m not sure she’d want to come to the gym. I will give this some thought. Thanks Jayson!!!!

  2. Jayson! Says:

    No Prob Bob.

    I know most people (myself included) usually don’t think about working out on vacation.

    But there’s a big difference between a steady, sustained increased heartrate workout and the wander around at a slow pace, with lots of water, bathroom and food breaks of large groups.

    I actually find the Meandering to be EXHAUSTING!

    And with enough forethought and planning, there must be a solution or two to making sure your young charge is taken care of for 40 minutes. =)

    You’ll have MUCH more to give when you’re taking care of yourself. =)

    Enjoy!

    • Kitty Says:

      Jayson, you ARE A GEM! You are so right!

      Well, now I’m not only excited about seeing the nation’s Capitol, but also about the possibility of “working out” in another state. Woooo hooooo! I am so easy to please 🙂

      • Jayson! Says:

        Yeah…there’s something about D.C. air that just makes you work out harder…I think it’s all the Hot Air in that city…it really fuels your lungs. =P


  3. Hey girl! Thanks for stopping by my blog and giving me such a great compliment! Zumba is a cardio class thats more of a dance class/ party/ latin dancing. It’s really fun and a good workout. They also have fitness dvds (I actually just ordered one from Amazon, I will let you know how it is). Their website is zumba.com.


Leave a Reply

